I used to review curriculum, now I create it

Learning How to Love Our Kids in the Way They can Receive It

love languages

We want to love on our children not just often and lavishly, but effectively. Did you know there is a particular way your child is programmed to receive that love? Understanding how our children feel loved and express their love can help us better parent them and build connections with them that will stand the test of time. We naturally express love the way we receive it and that may not be getting through to our children if they recognize love a different way. So keep reading and take a minute to hit the share buttons on your right and pin this post for later!

loving our kids the way they receive love, take the quiz and find out your child's love language! love languages | love language quiz | love language test | parenting encouragement | parenting tips | homeschool | homeschool encouragement


The 5 Love Languages of Children

There are actually 5 different love “languages”, ways that our children speak and understand love. If you do not own the book, you need to go and grab it right now here. You can get a kindle version for your e-reader and read it starting today, it will revolutionize your relationship with your child! I’ll give you a brief overview of the different love languages here, but there are chapters full of information in the book that will give you more insight into your children and how to better connect with them. They are:

  1. Physical Touch: these kids feel loved by lots of physical affection. Hugs, tickles, holding hands when you go on a walk. Each little touch from you reminds them of your love. They may also be very affectionate with other people.
  2. Words of affirmation: these kids feel loved by words. Telling them how great they did or how much you appreciate them will mean the world to them! These children children might take negative comments very hard.
  3. Quality Time: these kids feel loved when you put down what you are doing and give them your undivided attention. They will be keenly aware if you are not fully present with them and they will crave time with you above all else.
  4. Gifts: does your child ask for gifts? Sometimes we can misunderstand this as being selfish or a negative character trait, oftentimes we don’t think about the fact that it might be how they feel loved and valued by us. Children whose love language is gifts will feel noticed, appreciated, and important when we take the time to think of little trinkets and gifts that will speak to them.
  5. Acts of Service: these kids will feel loved when we do things for them. Maybe we make their bed one morning or brush their hair. Maybe this child asks you to do things you know they can do, not because they are dependant and/or lazy, but because having you do these things for them makes them feel treasured by you!

Take the Quiz and find out the love languages of your entire family!

The best part about this, is that they have created a quiz you can do to discover your child’s love language, but also your own. When you select begin, you will be asked if you are completing the quiz for yourself or a child, you can repeat it as many times as you need to to learn more about how your family relates together and how to better love your spouse, your children, and feel loved in return! It is an invaluable resource!

love languages

What are your love languages? Comment below!

I used to review curriculum, now I create it!